Convening agencies & participants

The Lao Uplands Initiative is organized under the umbrella of the Sector Working Group on Agriculture and Rural Development (SWG-ARD) and is chaired by:

H.E. Minister of Agriculture and Forestry and Chairman of the Science and Technology Council of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

H.E. Dr. Phouangparisak PRAVONGVIENGKHAM,
Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Forestry,
SWGARD Chairman

H.E. Mrs. Claudine LEDOUX,
Ambassador of France to Lao PDR,

Mr. Stephen RUDGARD,
FAO Representative in Lao PDR,
SWARD Co-Chair

The organization committee is chaired by:

Deputy Director of the Department of Agricultural Land Management, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

Mr. Khamsone SYSANHOUTH,
Northern Uplands Development Programme, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

Mr. Matthieu BOMMIER,
Agence Française de Développement,
AFD Representative
in Lao PDR

Dr. Jean-Christophe CASTELLA,
Institute of Research for Development (IRD) and CIRAD Agricultural Research for Development

Participants in the initiative are from government and non-government agencies, development practitioners, academics, and donors.